year of bible – hope wins…

ImageDrawn back to the Psalms this week…

Yes, my soul, find rest in God;
    my hope comes from him (Psalm 62)

Where does your hope come from…?

Like you I’ve got a whole heap of hopes…

I hope that I’m a good husband and father, son and brother…more importantly, I hope that my wife and my children, my parents and my family know they are loved simply by how I talk and how I live…

I hope that I’m a good teacher…more importantly, I hope that my pupils know how valued they are and how much I long for them to expand their horizons…

I hope that I’m a good friend, a good colleague, a good person…more importantly, I hope I’m someone that people around me can rely on me to be what they need me to be…

I hope that I’m a good follower…more importantly, I hope that it makes a difference…

That’s a whole lot of hoping.

But where does my hope come from?

My hope comes from the knowledge that death doesn’t win. That there is another way and that you and I are involved in making that other way happen.

My hope is shaped by a life that was lived some 2000 years ago and still resonates loudly today.

My hope is Jesus shaped.  A shape that doesn’t always fit into the patterns of the world, but makes every aspect of life fit around it.

I’m a bit of a restless soul, always looking for the next, looking over the horizon…but the rest that I find is here in this hope. But it’s a rest that causes all sorts of restlessness…

A restlessness that longs to see my world radically shaped by hope.

What’s your hope?

Because if you haven’t got hope…well, you haven’t got a hope.  I’m not being facetious.  This isn’t a flippant throwaway. This isn’t smiling when all is falling apart.  This is crying and shouting and screaming and pushing and pulling…and it never ends.

Find your hope. Find your rest that brings restlessness.

That’s the first step.

Then see where it goes…

Leave a Reply

