day 225…

Having spent the first 33 years of life not touching a drop of alcohol, I started drinking at the beginning of this year (don’t worry…this isn’t an Alcoholics Anonymous style intervention…!).  Not sure what it was that finally cracked – perhaps spending more time in the pub with friends (our little parkology group), or being intrigued by what my Dad was drinking…eventually I decided the time was right for me to take a step into the world of Real Ale.

Funnily enough, it was my Dad who inducted me – I remember the evening when I told him I fancied a drink and his pleasure in choosing a good range of ales to try from our local supermarket.  We haven’t looked back since then…

I’m a lightweight – not for me the drinking to oblivion…or even getting a bit tipsy.  I’m far too much of a control freak to go down that route.  I have to be aware of what’s going on all the time.  Instead I enjoy the camaraderie of heading to our local (Royal Oak in Heavitree) sitting with friends, chatting over a good, tasty pint of something brewed locally.  I’m not sure if a drink or two makes me more relaxed – I don’t think so – but it’s just nice to feel like I’m a ‘grown-up’ rather than rather shamefully sipping from a pint of diet coke!

If we do go to this festival it’ll be my first such even… not sure how I’ll get on as I’m only used to one or two pints at the most!

2 thoughts on “day 225…

  1. Hi Martin

    Just wondering whether it might be a good idea to clarify the “grown up” part? The way you say it, you make it sound like you’re not a grown up until you drink 😉

    There is, of course, nothing wrong with not drinking! But I’d be pretty ashamed of sipping diet coke… yuck!

    1. Not sure I’d read it the way you’re taking it, but I can see how you could interpret it that way. I think what I was attempting to convey was the transition from soft drink to a pint of beer. And for me that does feel a bit more grown up!

Leave a Reply

