day 214…

One of the beautiful things that happens occasionally as a parent is seeing your child start to love the things that you loved when you were growing up.  I guess it’s about deepening that link, realising that it’s more than just DNA that you share.

When we were on holiday back in February we took Sephi to see the new Muppets movie – despite a bit of wiggling and a couple of loo breaks I think she really enjoyed it.  In fact, she enjoyed it so much that when we borrowed my parent’s copy of the ‘Best of the Muppets Original Series’ she devoured it.  30+ years old TV, stars she doesn’t have a clue about…but full of frolics and good, clean fun.  What more could a 3-year-old want?

So…we’ve now got a set of Muppets: Kermit, Miss Piggy, Fozzie Bear, Gonzo, Rizzo, Animal…I’m almost jealous!  She loves them and constantly wants to play with them.  Scarily, I do a passable Miss Piggy.  I guess it’s the ‘hy-yah’ that does it!

I always identified with Fozzie the most.  Not that I tell rubbish jokes…although I probably do.  Just something about his willingness to just keep plugging away…ducking those tomatoes.  Important life lessons carried therein!  It’s one of my clear memories from childhood, sitting with my family and giggling our way through Kermit’s attempts to keep everyone going, Piggy’s stroppiness, Gonzo’s wackiness, Animal’s…well, animalness, I guess.  Sitting with Sephi and watching them all over again is just so lovely.

So…one Muppet loving daughter…two very happy parents!

2 thoughts on “day 214…

  1. I loved the movie too! I think Jim Henson would have been proud of it. It definitely took me back 30 years and made me wonder what happened to my Muppet Show pajamas. My 8year old has just discovered it as well – which is great as it’s something we all love to watch. Why don’t they make them like that anymore?

    1. Funnily enough I asked my parents exactly that – why did they ever stop making them? They were perfect TV for both adults and children. So innocent and yet so funny!

      Thanks for stopping by!
      M

Leave a Reply

