day 196…

Last day of term.

Last day of eXtreme. My good friend and colleague Torsten Payne rather stylishly supervising a water slide exit zone. Long story…(we were challenged to come up with the best photo of someone reading during activity week…we did ask the lifeguard. We’re good boys, you know). Brilliant week doing lots of new things and pushing my limits.

Last day at St Luke’s. Really hard walking away today. Because we arrived home after everyone else had left there was hardly anyone to say goodbye to. The school was where Kay first worked when I was posted down to Exeter – she got the job just before I was ordained as a Salvation Army officer. 8 years on we have many deep friendships rooted in that place. Hard to leave, although friendships will continue. It’s hard to leave the pupils too. Some are hard work, but most are beautiful.

Thank you St Luke’s for making me the teacher I am. Thank you for letting me be your chaplain for the last 6 years. Thank you for being a huge part of my journey from where I was to where I am today in terms of faith, church, religion, maturity and just general human-ness.

I don’t think this is the end.

Let’s see.

Leave a Reply

