painting…

Just returned to Michael Frost’s ‘Exiles’ after a bit of a break. Within a page I stumbled across a passage that kind of defines my understanding of who I am and what I’m about:

‘I suspect that it has been my life’s work to paint over the unreal, highly symbolic images of Jesus that many people carry and to seek to render something richer, more real, more inspiring than the porcelain icons that occupy the imaginations of many people today…It’s my vocation of sorts, for I fear that our highly sanitised, domesticated images of Jesus derive not from the New Testament, but from two millennia of romantic Christian art and culture. And I’d go further and suggest that the degree to which we adopt a tame and insipid picture of Jesus is the degree to which we avoid the mission to which he has called us…All Christian Missional activity – our dangerous criticism, our dangerous promises – must emerge from our relationship with Jesus’. (p29 Frost, M ‘ Exiles: Living Missionally in a Post-Christian Culture’; Peabody, Mass: Hendrickson)

Amen…

One thought on “painting…

Leave a Reply

