with all you’ve got…

Late last night I finally got around to catching up with my daily reflection…by late I mean past midnight…but who’s counting?  Anyway, the topic for the day was the shema – the words of Deuteronomy 6v4+5 (TMV):

 Attention, Israel!
God, our God! God the one and only!
 Love God, your God, with your whole heart: love him with all that’s in you, love him with all you’ve got!

No wonder Jesus chooses to talk about this when challenged to tell his listeners which the greatest commandment was.  Sitting comfortably alongside this passage are Jesus’ words in John 10:10:

The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy; I have come that they may have life, and have it to the full.

What passionate words…does my life echo with this kind of sentiment?  When people see me, do they see this in action?

I wonder if all the bad press we Jesus-followers get is because this isn’t what people see.  They see too much division, or protectionism…too much of us trying to keep a hold of the privileges of a bygone era (Christendom) instead of a willingness to roll up our sleeves and get our hands dirty with the crap that goes on in our world.

If we lived passionately, if we lived ‘fully’…perhaps then something might change…

Please know that this isn’t me talking about anyone else…it starts with me…

I want to live a life of total commitment…

Leave a Reply

