the reason why…

…I posted the last video is that I’m intrigued by the idea that Christians may be perceived by others to somehow consider themselves ‘better’ than others.  John taps into this idea by explaining how he sees it – we haven’t got this inherent moral superiority – instead, we’re people who are dependent on ‘external’ guidance.  Now, to anyone who doesn’t believe in the ‘other’ (as in the spiritual side of life, in my case God in three persons) this can seem like an easy opt out clause.  The argument could be presented that we shrug off the need to hold core values about life, not using the brains we’ve got to figure out the ‘right’ thing to do.  Maybe shrugging our shoulders and absolving ourselves…

I can understand this frustration – my old boss used to talk about the Christian opt-out clause, where we say “if God wills it”…it’s a bit like that…but I want to suggest it’s something else.  To me, it’s a more humble approach to the world – admitting that I don’t have all the answers, and need to look beyond myself – often.  Too many of the world’s problems are caused through the arrogance of people – the unwillingness to ask for help when making complex decisions.  I, and many of my fellow brothers and sisters in Christ simply acknowledge how flawed we are, and that we need help.

Looking to God is not weakness…

It’s not a crutch…

It’s inspiration…

It’s looking at the world and realising that I can’t make sense of this without the bigger picture – that somewhere in the middle of all of this mess God is at work, recreating.

Asking the Holy Spirit to guide our decision making is to partner with God in this work.  It’s getting a sense for what he would have me do – no matter how odd or difficult that may be.  My experience is that when I put myself in that place, things come together.  Don’t get me wrong – I have deep values and principles about how life should be lived – inspired by God – but they need interpreting with each fresh challenge the world throws up.

So – if you haven’t yet, have a look at John’s video below.  Have a listen…comment, argue with me why I’m wrong…

Leave a Reply

