summertime…and the reading is good…

summer is a quieter part in the rhythm of life of the Diocesean Education Team, of which I’m a part.  The great thing about this is that I’ve had a load of space to catch up on reading.  Now, I’ve confessed on this blog before that I’m a little bit of a unfaithful reader – I tend to have 2 or three books going at once.

At the moment I’m working my way through a couple of books for work and a couple of books at home…I know, how can I do them justice?!  Anyway – at work I’m reading Duffy Robbin’s incredible tome ‘This Way to Youth Ministry‘, which is a comprehensive handbook to an American Youth Ministry graduate level course.  It’s a very well written book – which needs contextualisation from American youth ministry culture to our British course.  Heaps of very powerful and well researched material that I would recommend to anyone who seriously wants to work on their youth ministry.

The second one I’m reading is more about my personal development.  It’s a book I’ve had on my shelf at home since I was a Salvation Army officer – called ‘The 18 Challenges of Leadership‘ by Trevor Waldock and Shenaz Kelly-Rawat.  This is a great book that explores the character and competencies of leadership.  Each challenge (vision, strategy, proactiveness, wisdom etc.) has a short chapter, followed by a self assessment and then a section for you to work through to improve in this area.  The great thing about this book is that it contains great practical as well as theoritical tips.  Again, I’d thoroughly recommend this to anyone in a leadership role.

Finally – my ‘home’ reads. I’m working through a history book about the Duke of Marlborough by Richard Holmes – great read about a great leader.  The other one I’ve picked up from the library called ‘Silver‘ by Edward Chupack.  This is a really interesting read whose premise is a captured Long John Silver telling his life story.  It’s a clever retelling of a classic.  Leads to some interesting thoughts on how we can seek to reinterpret our own story in each generation, but also the importance of listening to each person’s perspective.

I’m trying to find an easy way to catelogue online our book collection – but the only freebie I’ve found so far is Google Library – not the easiest or most dynamic of tools.  Also not very pretty!

Any books you’d recommend as worth a read – got a few weeks off coming up…

2 thoughts on “summertime…and the reading is good…

  1. One of my big faves is Mike Frost’s EXILES – Living Missionally in a Post Christian Culture. I’ve kept going back to that over the last 2 or 3 years.

    I also enjoyed ReJesus: A Wild Messiah for a Missional Church, which Mike wrote with Alan Hirsch.

Leave a Reply

