belated…

…New Years greetings to all and sundry! Hope you had a fantastic and thoroughly relaxing turn of year. We had a great time – in fact, probably one of my favourite Christmases and New Years for a long time that included:
– time spent with our parents…
– a day trip to Brussels via Eurostar – which I’d fully recommend to anyone…
– a 24-a-thon (as in Jack Bauer), managing to watch the whole of season two in about 26 hours…

Not back at work until Tuesday, so still got a little bit of chilling to do.

Thought I’d reflect on last years challenges, which were:
– running a half marathon…
– learning a new language…

Well…did the half marathon, but no where near as well as I could have, and the language learning kind of stalled after a few months. Got embarrassing standing on the train repeating Spanish phrases I was listening to on the ipod!

So, what do I want to set my mind towards in this glorious New Year? I certainly want to keep moving forward on the fitness front. A good mate of mine is considering a mini-triathlon later on in the year…I’m tempted…gonna be getting back into the running groove with Mr Jones before too long, hopefully. I’ll think about doing the half marathon again, but not too sure…

Secondly, really want to improve my recording of what I’m reading, so I might add one of of those boxes on the side of my blog that tells whoever cares what I’m reading. So far the list would focus on the many tomes I got for Christmas! Not always highbrow…but great fun. As part of this challenge, I’d also love to read some N.T. Wright. Not sure where to start, so any recommendations would be well received.

Finally, I’m not ready to give up on the language thing, but this time I might try revisiting French. Our visit to Brussels dusted off the stuff I haven’t used for a long time, and I really enjoyed it…

I love the whole New Year, new start thing…chance to thank God for everything that’s been and for all that’s coming. I find it easy to get ensnared in the grind of the everyday, so the chance to ‘lift my head’ and consider beyond the here and now is very much welcome. So much has happened over the past 12 months that when I look back I’m astounded. And I guess I find myself saying ‘more, please!’ I want to grow in faith, grace, patience…stuff that only God can do within me…hence, ‘more, please’ – whatever that ‘more’ is…

I truly pray that God meets you where you are this year and grabs hold of your hand and leads you on…just follow…there’s no better place to be…

6 thoughts on “belated…

  1. Depends on your level I think. For intermedite-advanced I’d recommend giving this a go:

    http://www.champs-elysees.com/

    or this:

    http://www.worldlanguagespodcasting.com/wlangp/french.php

    for something a bit less taxing maybe this:

    Maybe Google “about.com French”, then when you’re on the About.com site click on ‘Audio Lab’ down the left-hand side to find something more appropriate?

    Alternatively call me and we can speak just French the whole conversation…

Leave a Reply

