Faith…


road
Originally uploaded by katmut.

For a while now I’ve been wanting to open a conversation about faith – about why we believe the things we do…

Is it because we need something ‘other’ than ordinary existence?

Is it simply a crutch for the weak?

Is it selfishness – thinking about our eternal future and not wanting to end up in the wrong place?

Is it hedging our bets?

Is it believing in a better vision of life, community, of the world?

I’d be interested to hear your thoughts – why do you believe what you believe in…or why don’t you believe in anything?

I promise to reply to comments…

2 thoughts on “Faith…

  1. Ok, I’ll start things off…

    I believe in something because I ‘feel’ that there is something out there, something bigger than me that my learning and experience has told me is called God the Father, Jesus the Son and the Holy Spirit. Part of that is accepting that Jesus died for me…

    I believe because the world is desperate for something better, and I think that God’s plan is the only way of sorting this mess out – that through Jesus we understand who we are and what we’re meant to be about. The potential for us all within that is simply mesmorising…

    I believe because the rhythm of God’s interaction with humanity both in the bible and beyond is just simply impossible to ignore…

    Some of my reasons…what about yours?

Leave a Reply

