Reading list 2…

Having confessed to the great sin of multiple book reading, I’ve managed to finish off the majority of the books I was talking about. I’ve now moved onto a new lot…

‘Atonement’ – Ian McEwan – Kay got me into McEwan by getting me to read ‘Saturday’. He has a great writing style that I really enjoy at the moment. Not your average block buster page turner, I guess…

‘Big Questions in History’ – Harriet Swain, Ed. – A great collection of essays by historians and journalists that explore some of the themes that run throughout history. Great book for a history junky like me…one of those ‘dip in and out’ kind of books…

‘JPod’ – Douglas Coupland – I’ve loved Couplands books since being introduced to his writing in my year out. This guy is seen as being the pre-eminent creative writer of the post-modern age. Looking forward to getting my teeth stuck into it…

‘Emerging Churches: Creating Christian community in in postmodern cultures’ – Eddie Gibb and Ryan Bolger – Just borrowed this from my boss – a real study of what makes emerging emergent! Again, looking forward to exploring this…

Now, it’s not something I see as being extraordinary, but someone I work with was really surprised that I had a library card! It was one of the first things Kay and I did when we moved to Exeter! What was even funnier is when we went to sign up they said “Ah, we see your children have already got cards?”! My predecessors were also Thompsons (Jan and Derrick), and lived at the same address…so we became surrogate parents of Ben and Annalise…according to the library system!

I know it isn’t the most radical of things, but libraries are great, aren’t they? The ability to access so much information for free! Am I just an undercover geek after all…?

3 thoughts on “Reading list 2…

  1. Wow! Hehe, yeh i missed that one too ben!! And yes – libraries are fantastic places!! Could get lost in a library quite happily for many hours at a time 🙂 I’d also like to point out that I read multiple books and don’t get how anyone can stick to 1 book at a time!! Would be so boring…

  2. It’s a slippery slope, mate, first you renounce your officership, then you confess to the sin of multiple book-reading…

    I still haven’t read a single book since discussing Romanitas with you when we stopped at your gaff in September. Started reading ‘Freakonomics’ but kinda got bored. My excuse to myself is that I spend all day reading plenty of fiction anyway…

Leave a Reply

