Moving on…

After 2 months of barely holding my tongue (blogfast and limited blogging since!) I can now tell the web that I’m moving on from being a Salvation Army officer. This is technically called ‘resignation’, and as such is a step away from ministry.

I want to make it clear, however, that in no way are we running away from what God wants of us. In fact one of the many reasons we’ve made this decision is because we’re seeking to follow God’s leading into a ‘new thing’ that he wants us to be part of.

For a long time now I’ve been feeling this, and wanted to be absolutely sure (as far as you can in matters of faith!) that this was the right thing to do, but the way things have developed since making the decision would seem to make it clear that this is what God wants of us.

We don’t want this to be something that looks like we’re angry with the Salvation Army, or taking a swipe at anyone’s calling to it. I pray that God will continue to do great things through the Army – it’s just it’s not where he wants us.

So, what next? Well, we’re staying in Exeter as Kay is really settled at her school, and buying an apartment on the edge of the city (learning how to do mortgages is very very fun!). I’ve got a job lined up that I start in two and a bit weeks, we’re exploring some new possibilities for our spiritual home…

It’s all really exciting, and at times a little bit scary, but as I’ve already said we just know that this is where God wants us to be…out on the edge, ready and able to respond to what he wants. I guess that means leaving behind something I’ve been part of for my whole life, but that’s something we’re willing to do.

Pray for us – and for those I’ve had the privilege to work with. This is a huge change that we’re going through…and we know we’re not on our own…but it’s still a huge change…

5 thoughts on “Moving on…

  1. Martin,

    I’m sorry to hear that the Army is going to lose your voice as I feel we have many areas where we agree. However, I want to assure you of my prayers as you move forward along God’s path for you both.

    I hope that you will continue to blog on your future experiences and that we won’t lose your input on matters of faith!

    God bless you both,

    Graeme

  2. Hi,

    Just to say thanks on hehalf of all us guys here in case no-one else does! You’ve done a fantastic Job and have been a great influence on at least me if not everyone else.

    I pray you’ll be able to see what you’ve done in the past few years, leaving a group of young people who are more spiritually aware then when you arrived.

    I’m praying for you and kay with moving and mortgages and all the fun things like that, and I’m sure the rest of us are.

    I’m sure you’ll still see me pop up from time to time on here, asking questions, and genrally annoying you. You’ll have to go along way to get rid of me (insert evil laugh here)

    Anyway, here’s to you, and here’s to the kingdom.

  3. I agree with Graeme – sorry that the Army is losing you. On the other hand, I’m pleased that you are able to take a step of faith like this.

    God will bless you both wherever he leads you!

    Of course, this means we won’t ever meet at councils again… and for that, I’m annoyed! 🙂 No, seriously, don’t be a stranger. You have my e-mail address, so keep in touch!

Leave a Reply

